Schedule/Syllabus

Quick Navigation: Week 1 | 2345678


Week 1: Foundations of the Digital Humanities

Wednesday, June 5

  • 9-10 am:  What are the Digital Humanities?
  • 10:15-11:45 am:  Digital Scholarship Summer Fellow Expectations
    • Facilitated by Garthwait Leadership Center
  • Noon-1 pm:   Lunch
  • 1:15-2:30 pm:  Review of the #dssf19 Schedule
  • 1:45-2:30 pm:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner
  • 2:30-3:15 pm:  Getting to Know Musselman Library

Thursday, June 6

  • 9-Noon:  Project Management / Zotero (Public Session)
  • Noon-1:  Lunch
  • 1-2:30 pm:  Metadata (w/Omeka) (Public Session)

Friday, June 7

  • 9-10 am:   Friday Updates and Planning
  • 10 am-Noon:  User Experience, Writing for the Web, and Wireframing (Public Session)
  •  1-2:30 pm:  Copyright and Licensing (Public Session)

Week 2: Tools

Monday, June 10

  • 9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner
  • 10-1 pm:  Inside the Black Box: Using HTML/CSS and WordPress to Create Websites (Public Session)

Wednesday, June 12

  •  9-11 am:   Mapping (ESRI, StoryMapJS) (Public Session)

Thursday, June 13

  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Friday, June 14

  • 9am-11am:  Timelines with TimelineJS (Public Session)
  • 1pm-2pm:  Friday Updates and Planning

Week 3: Relationships

Monday, June 17

  • 9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner
  • 10-Noon:  Scalar (Public Session)

 Wednesday, June 19

  • 10-Noon:   Network Analysis with Onodo (Public Session)

Thursday, June 20

  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Friday, June 21

  • 9-10 am:  Friday Updates and Planning
  • 10-noon:  Text Analysis with Voyant (Public Session)

Week 4: Data

Monday, June 24

  • 9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner (Revisit Project Charter)
  • 10-Noon: Data Visualization (Public Session)

Wednesday, June 26

  •   9-10 am:  Mid-Point Check in with GLC
  •   10-11 am:  DH in Context session with Dr. Jill Titus

Thursday, June 27

  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Friday, June 28

  • 9-10 am:  Friday Updates and Planning

Week 5: Games

Monday, July 1

  • 9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner
  • 10-Noon:  DH in Context session
  • 1-3 pm:  West Building Visit

Wednesday, July 3

  • 10-Noon:  Games and Digital Humanities with Greg Lord (Public Session)
  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Thursday, July 4

  • OFF, College closed 

Friday, July 5

  • 9-10 am: Updates and Planning

Week 6: Interactivity

Monday, July 8

  • 9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner
  • 10-Noon:  Web Usability (Public Session)

Wednesday, July 9

  • 10-Noon:  Project Feedback and Review

Thursday, July 11

  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Friday, July 12

  • Project Draft due by 9 am
  • 9-10 am: Friday Updates and Planning

Week 7: Presenting

Monday, July 15

  • 9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner
  • 10-Noon:  Working with Faculty and Elevator Speeches (Public Session)
  • Noon:  Lunch with Bucknell DSSRFs
  • 1-3 pm:  Sharing Projects with Bucknell DSSRFs

Wednesday, July 17

  •  10-Noon:  Worst Presentation Ever! (Public Session)

Thursday, July 18

  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Friday, July 19

  •   9-10 am:  Friday Updates and Planning

Week 8: Final Week

Monday, July 22

  •   9-10 am:  Meet with Your Librarian Partner

Wednesday, July 24

  • Noon-1 pm:  Lunch Discussion

Thursday, July 25

  • 10 am-Noon:  Public Presentation, Lyceum
  • 2:30-3 pm:  Writing Thank You Notes

Friday, July 26

  •  9-10 am:  Final Check in with Librarian Partner
  •  10-11 am: Group Check-In/Debrief
  •  Noon-1 pm:  Final Lunch Celebration